• contact Send Message
  • menu Menu
  • Jakeonsirena

    • 30ft Tartan
    • Mexico
    • Checked in 7 hours ago

Southern Migration

Last fall, after 4 years of living aboard and sailing Sirena in the San Francisco Bay, I headed out the Golden Gate and turned left. Its been a leisurely voyage of exploration, stopping to anchor and and dock frequently, waiting for good weather windows, and living as simply as possible.

She is currently hauled out and in storage on the mainland coast of the Sea of Cortez while I earn some more voyaging funds in Alaska. But I am looking forward to getting back to life on the water in September or October.

From there I will either be heading south along the Central American coast or continuing to enjoy the beautiful Sea of Cortez for the winter. The plans are always open ended and flixible. An ideal crew member would have enough experience to know that they enjoy being at sea, and are not prone to seasickness. They would also have a positive and adventurous attitude, and be comfortable with a flexible itinerary and a minimalist lifestyle. The food and slip costs are generally shared, but the basic budget is about $50/week/person, possibly less.

show hide Position

Position

  • Crew positionNovice Crew

  • Availability 25 Sep 2019 for the foreseeable future

  • Expenses to/from vesselNegotiable

  • Expenses onboardContribution on a shared basis

  • Team / SoloNot important

show hide Vessel

Vessel

  • TypeSailing Yacht

  • Make/modelTartan

  • Length30 feet

  • Berth3

  • Sailing from Mexico , San Carlos

  • Sailing to Mexico , Unknown

  • Language spoke aboardEnglish

  • Boat descriptionSirena is a simple sturdy and seaworthy boat. She is comfortable but in no way luxurious. All the modifications I have done with an eye towards minimalism, efficiency and seaworthyness. She sails nicely in most winds and on many points of sail, and can be a lively ride in heavy conditions. Safety equipment includes an EPIRB, inReach, flares, inflatable PFDs, jacklines and tethers. I have one spare set of foul weather gear and a few spare inflatable PFD's.

show hide Skipper

Skipper

  • NationalityUSA

  • Age34

  • GenderMale

  • Fluent languages English

  • Basic knowledge of Spanish

  • Qualifications 1st Aid
    Commercial Driver
    CPR
    USCG Captains License

  • Sea Miles 2,500 - 10,000

show hide Photos

Photos

7
Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Contact

Contact

You must be to contact this member. or Sign up, it's FREE!

top
close

Share this profile

close

Profile URL

This URL has automatically been copied to your clipboard.