• contact Send Message
  • menu Menu
  • mbdean

    • 56, American
    • United States
    • Checked in 1 week ago

Ahoy!!!

Ahoy!!! I am looking to get days and miles at sea. I did my first solo sailing at age 7 and have been all over the Caribbean, East coast of France to Gibraltar to Eastern Greece, East Coast of the US, Pacific Northwest and the length of Baja. If you need crew there are very few jobs too big or too small for me.
This past January I suddenly realized that the rat race can keep on running quite nicely without me being stuck in it. So, having now taken an early retirement, I am looking to do something I truly love on a more or less full time basis - sailing.

More specifically, I am looking to get my USGS captain's license and enjoy my retirement somewhere warmer than where I currently live. I am fun loving, easy to get along with, low maintenance, physically fit, travel light and bring my own gear. Occasionally I am also known to strum a chord or two on a guitar and even sing a verse here or there. I also LOVE to cook and generally do so without complaints from those eating my fare. I sail every chance I get and currently own a Hobie 18 and am former owner of sailboats between 22 and 31 feet. No job aboard is too small or too big and I have a fair bit of experience with repair and maintenance of diesel motors and other maritime systems. But above all else, I will show up when and where I say that I will and I will always be grateful for the opportunity to push off from the dock and watch the land disappear below the horizon.

As for experience, I recently completed a 2600nm delivery of a brand new Fountaine Pajot Astrea 42 Catamaran from La Rochelle, France to Lavrio, Greece and have participated in several other passages/deliveries on the East and West coasts of the US and Baja. Plus I have been skipper on eleven bareboat charters - three of which were on Catamarans of forty-one to fifty-five feet length. In addition, I have around nine months of other cruising and/or live aboard as Skipper/owner or crew.

show hide About me

About me

  • Availability 1st July 2019

  • LocationUnited States

  • NationalityAmerican

  • Age56

  • GenderMale

  • Fluent languagesEnglish

  • Basic knowledge ofGerman, Italian, Portuguese

  • SmokerNo

  • Visible tattoosNo

  • VISAs None

  • Sea miles2,500 - 10,000

  • Required position Delivery Crew
    1st Mate
    Captain
    Competent Crew

  • Expected arrangement Professional / Recreational

show hide Photos

Photos

1
show hide Experience

Experience log

20
Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Qualifications

Qualifications

4
  • Jul 2003 ASA asic Coastal Cruising Complete

  • Sep 2008 ASA Bareboat Chartering (Intermediate Coastal Cruising) Complete

  • Jun 2003 ASA Basic Keelboat Complete

  • Oct 2003 ASA Coastal Navigation Complete

show hide Skills

Skills

  • Cooking
  • Microsoft office
  • Video editing
  • Canyoning
  • Climbing
  • Free-diving
  • Fishing
  • Route planning
  • Line handling
  • Filing & Fairing
  • Watch-keeping
  • Sail repairs
  • Rig maintenance/Set-up
  • Fore and aft trimming
  • Radio Operator
  • Weather planning
  • Navigation
  • Helmsmen
  • Meditation
  • Blogger/Writer
  • Marine First Aid
  • Musician
  • Diesel engine repair
  • Car mechanic
  • Motor Mechanic
  • Welder
  • Fiberglass Repair
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Carpentary
  • Plumbing and Heating
  • General building
  • Varnishing
  • Polishing
  • Cleaning
show hide Q&A

Q&A

2
Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Feedback

Feedback

0

Only members can leave reviews. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Contact

Contact mbdean

locked

You must be logged in to send a message. or Register.

top
close

Share this profile

close

Profile URL

This URL has automatically been copied to your clipboard.