Competent Sailor / Captain, Mate, Deck Available October 2018

Greetings, #I will be available in October 2018, and am looking for a paid position aboard a sailing vessel in any capacity on deck. # With more than 40 years of experience in both power and sail including two trans-Atlantic crossings aboard sailing vessels up to 156', I am offering my service in any capacity on deck. (I do cook well, but prefer to sail). I have a Master 5 and MED 3 in Australia, and a 100 ton Master near coastal aux-sail from the US. I am currently a Ferry Master on the Brisbane river in Australia. I have much commercial experience as Mate and Engineer on schooners up to 50m, in addition to 9 years spent aboard a 33m gaff rigged sloop as Mate, Engineer, Bosun, and Educator. Additionally, I have been Captain of charter and sail training sloops up to 20m in Alaska, San Francisco, New York, British Virgin Islands, Greece, and Australia. I am a people person- and find the interaction I have with crew, customers, students, and the general public to be energizing and rewarding. I have sound knowledge of the operation and maintenance of non-motorized, sail, and power vessels, and have worked as an engineer aboard large sailing and motorized vessels, as well as a rigger of high end racing and cruising yachts. Having successfully held supervisory positions of responsibility and accountability. I feel that I could apply my boat skills to any position very effectively. I am positive, safe, responsible, and proactive, ready to jump in when the need arises. I do not smoke, or use drugs, and drink only on special occasions, but that doesn't mean I do not know how to have a good time! My hobbies include scuba ( PADI open water), mtn. biking, hiking/camping, skiing, swing ( lindy ) dance, and I also play mandolin. (Yes, I know Buffet's margaritaville :) My preference is for traditional sailing vessels- but I am happy aboard anything that is floating...less so when it is sinking. I am looking for a happy, sober crew on a well found vessel. Thanks for considering me.

About Me

Seeking position/s as Captain
1st Mate

Availability 7th September 2017

Expected arrangement Professional

Nationality USA

Age 63

Gender Male

Fluent languages English

Basic knowledge of French

Smoker No

Visible Tattoos No

VISAs B1 / B2 (or American citizen)

Skills Climbing Canyoning Route planning Helmsmen Navigation Weather planning Radio Operator Fore and aft trimming Musician General building Carpentary Fiberglass Repair Varnishing Provisioning Cooking Swedish Deep Tissue Reflexology Line handling Filing & Fairing Watch-keeping Whipping and splicing Sail repairs Rig maintenance/Set-up Rigging Teaching Tender driving Diesel engine repair Car mechanic Motor Mechanic Electrical Engineering Plumbing and Heating Polishing Cleaning Managerial Skills

Qualifications ASA asic Coastal Cruising Catamaran Basic License Commercial Driver CEVNI Safety at Sea/Sea Survival Short Range VHF / GMDSS 1st Aid USCG 100 Ton Master

Experience Log

Viewable by members only

Q & A

Viewable by members only

Privacy notice: some information has been hidden from this page based on the member's privacy settings. Members of Crewbay reserve the right to restrict certain information to other registered and verified members of Crewbay.

Register with Crewbay
Crewbay privacy policy