• contact Send Message
  • menu Menu
  • Maya (from Austria)

    • 41, Austria
    • Colombia
    • Checked in 2 weeks ago

Looking for a Voluntary work, Novice Crew, Competent Crew, Friendship or Boat sitter position

Novice crew (on the way to competent crew) looking for new volunteer opportunities on boats from Cartagena/Colombia (or possibly other places in the Caribbean, that are affordable to reach from Colombia), available in the next couple of weeks/months:

Sailing experience:
•⁠ ⁠i recently helped sail a 40-foot catamaran from Puerto Rico to Florida (about 1100nm) together with the captain only, and i volunteered on the delivery of a traditional tall ship from Saint Martin to Panama (about 1255nm) so I have a decent amount of experience with multi-day offshore passages, solo day- and nightwatches, assisting in setting and dropping the various sails, sail trimming, reefing, hand steering (both wheel and tiller), basic knots, boat maintenance, line handling, basic VHF radio communication (got some practice in the ICW in Florida), anchoring, mooring (always caught the ball on the first try so far) and docking
•⁠ i recently also crewed as a linehandler on a Panama Canal transit ⁠and worked as a cook on a 39ft catamaran that does 5-day tours for backpackers between Panama and Colombia (so I know I can cook and do the dishes for 15 people in a tiny hot galley while underway)
•⁠ ⁠⁠i also sailed 5 weeks on various monohulls in Turkey, Greece and Panama and spent 3 weeks on a monohull at anchor (broken engine) in Guadeloupe
•⁠ ⁠i can safely drive the dinghy
•⁠ ⁠9 days of solo-boatsitting the catamaran in an anchorage in the Bahamas
•⁠ altogether about 3000nm and 5 months of „boatlife“ since last September so far
•⁠ ⁠very enthusiastic about learning how to sail (so any opportunities where the captain enjoys teaching are the best fit for me)
•⁠ ⁠very motivated to help with any tasks around the boat, from boat-maintenance and -repairs, to provisioning to cooking and cleaning
•⁠ ⁠⁠survived the catamaran getting full on hit by a tornado in a mooring field in Florida (luckily only minor injuries and minimal damage to the boat)

Personal attributes:
•⁠ ⁠41-year old cultural anthropologist, experiential/outdoor learning facilitator and social worker from Vienna, Austria
•⁠ ⁠⁠well travelled and educated, many stories to tell
•⁠ ⁠i don’t get seasick and i’m a good swimmer
•⁠ ⁠⁠not arrogant or entitled, responsible and reliable, good team-worker
•⁠ ⁠⁠fluent English and German, fluent but currently rusty Indonesian, intermediate Spanish and basic/passive knowledge of French
•⁠ ⁠⁠good communication skills, highly self-aware and self-reflective
•⁠ ⁠⁠introverted extrovert (i can be very social, and usually connect to people easily, but i get sensory overload from constant noise and need quiet downtime to recharge my social batteries - so a crowded party-boat wouldn't be a good fit for me)
•⁠ ⁠⁠pro-active and often trying to over-deliver on what is expected of me
•⁠ ⁠⁠i get very invested in the boats i’m sailing on, and i’m very dedicated to taking good care of them (i’ll try my best to leave them in a better condition than i found them)
•⁠ ⁠⁠⁠physically strong and fit, and don’t mind getting my hands dirty (i grew up on a farm)
•⁠ ⁠⁠“whatever it takes“-attitude when it comes to sailing
•⁠ ⁠⁠adventurous (i’ll volunteer to jump into the water in the middle of the night to check on the anchor with a flashlight, and things like that..)
•⁠ ⁠⁠i stay cool under pressure (e.g. when we had to take down a sail and it’s rigging in the middle of the night in 30 knots headwinds and very choppy waves because the wind was unfurling it.. or when the tornado ripped us off of our mooring and the boat almost smashed into a bridge..)
•⁠ ⁠⁠decent cooking skills, no allergies or food-restrictions, but a preference for healthy and unprocessed foods, leaning towards a pescetarian diet (but also eat meat every once in a while)
•⁠ ⁠⁠i don’t smoke (and prefer a smoke-free environment) and i’m not a heavy drinker (i’m happy with an occasional beer or a glass of wine or cocktail here and there)
•⁠ i prefer to be part of a crew where there is no place for sexism, alcoholism, homophobia, racism, mocking, crossing boundaries, condescending mansplaining, micromanaging and power-tripping
•⁠ ⁠flexible with time-commitments and destinations at this point (but would like to make my way from Colombia/Caribbean back to Europe until the end of May)
•⁠ ⁠⁠references from my other captains available on request

Currently the best fit for me would be a volunteer-crewing-position on a boat where i’m actually needed and where i’ll be put to work in exchange for food and a cabin, and where the captain enjoys teaching me everything about sailing.. ⛵️
While I obviously also enjoy leisurely cruising and boatlife and exploring the islands, i’m currently most interested in gaining as much sailing experience as possible - so i’d definitely also be interested in (voluntary or paid) crewing on deliveries! I will consider positions on a shared-costs-basis if it’s a great fit with the people on board and/or the itinerary, too! ⛵️

show hide About me

About me

  • Availability Available now

  • LocationColombia

  • NationalityAustria

  • Age41

  • GenderFemale

  • Fluent languagesGerman, English, Indonesian

  • Basic knowledge ofSpanish, French

  • SmokerNo

  • Visible tattoosNo

  • VISAs None

  • Sea miles500 - 2,500

  • Required position Voluntary work
    Novice Crew
    Friendship
    Boat sitter

  • Location preferenceCentral America

  • Expected arrangement Professional / Recreational

show hide Photos

Photos

23
Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Feedback

Feedback

0

Only members can leave reviews. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Contact

Contact Maya (from Austria)

locked

You must be logged in to send a message. or Register.

top
close

Share this profile

close

Profile URL

This URL has automatically been copied to your clipboard.