• contact Send Message
  • menu Menu
  • Ida Imielja

    • 24, Dutch
    • Netherlands
    • Checked in 2 weeks ago

Looking for an Atlantic passage

I might be the odd one out here.
Because I have chosen the completely wrong season for an Atlantic crossing. In June a very good friend of mine is getting married, but she lives in Canada, and I live in the Netherlands. Therefore I am looking for an Atlantic crossing as north as possible from Europe to North America.
I was planning on trying freighter travel, but since COVID, it hasn't happened (as far as I know).
So I am asking for your help.
Are you, or do you know someone who is, crossing the Atlantic from Europe to North America end of May/start of June?
A little bit about me:
I am 24 y/o (f), I'm hard working, quickly adjust to new situations and stress resistant. I lived in the Netherlands, the Dominican Republic, Germany, Peru and Norway. As a result, I speak fluent Dutch and English, sufficient German and Spanish, and (sadly too) little Norwegian and French.
Although I come from a sailing family, I don't have a lot of sailing experience, but I am also not prone to seasickness.
I have worked in many different disciplines; cleaning, cooking, catering, babysitting, at a horse riding school, as a sustainable energy consultant and in construction; insulating floors in the crawl space and building timber frame houses.
Professionally; I am persistent, focused, effective and get the job done.
Personally; I am enthusiastic, positive and a good communicator.
For the past half year, I have lived in Norway and studied 'Friluftsliv'. I learned how to prepare for and handle situations such as travelling on glaciers, on water (canoe, kayak, sailing), and alone in the mountains, reading maps and the sea of landscape. But also how to slaughter an animal, fish, or crab and identify mushrooms. I enjoyed this course immensely and tells some about my character and abilities.

show hide About me

About me

  • Availability Available now

  • LocationNetherlands

  • NationalityDutch

  • Age24

  • GenderFemale

  • Fluent languagesDutch, English

  • Basic knowledge ofSpanish, German

  • SmokerNo

  • Visible tattoosYes

  • VISAs None

  • Sea miles0 - 100

  • Required position Mile building
    Voluntary work

  • Location preferenceEurope

  • Expected arrangement Professional / Recreational

show hide Photos


Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Experience

Experience log

Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Qualifications


  • Nov 2023 1st Aid Complete

show hide Feedback



Only members can leave reviews. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Contact

Contact Ida Imielja


You must be logged in to send a message. or Register.


Share this profile


Profile URL

This URL has automatically been copied to your clipboard.