• contact Send Message
  • menu Menu
  • LuckyNico13

    • 47, USA
    • Panama
    • Checked in 6 days ago

Competent Crew - Experienced in Life and at Sea

Spring 2024: I'm looking to crew/sail somewhere near to Bocas del Toro, Panama or the San Blas Islands. Happy to join for a longer sail to Colombia or Venezuela, or wherever you see fit! I just need to be back to San Jose, CR for my flight on the 9th of June.

14 - 18 May - I arrive to San Jose, Costa Rica and stay a few nights in a HomeExchange (or I'm happy to make haste to meet you and hop aboard..me da igual!).

18 May, 2024 - Arrive Bocas del Toro and plan to be in the area until 7/8 June - I'm available to crew and just need to get myself back to San Jose, Costa Rica by the night of 8 June for my flight the next day.

9 June, 2024 - 0830 flight - SJO to LAX and on to Bend, Oregon where I'm from.

My name is Nico and I've got quite a lot of experience at sea, the majority of which was on commercial fishing boats in Alaska (I worked up there for 5-years as a long-liner & crabber), plus one Hawaii to Los Angeles delivery on a 70' Transpac vessel. I also sail and live aboard my own Tanzer 22', frequently, and for weeks at a time. Finally, there is little i love more than flying a hull on my Hobie Cat 16' whenever and wherever I can.

I am ASA certified, levels 101 (Basic Keelboat Sailing), 103 (Basic Coastal Cruising), and 104 (Bareboat Cruising). I'm very comfortable at the wheel for watch rotations, and I have a lot of experience with high-tech navigation systems, radar, sounders, communication and weather technologies, but I'm always keen to learn more.

Basically, I know how to live on a boat, how to conserve, and how to get along in tight spaces.

I'm an ICU Registered Nurse (RN) and an Emergency Medical Technician (EMT), so you'll be in good hands in the case of an emergency. I'm also a certified PADI Dive Instructor (not active), previously owned a boutique surf resort in Nicaragua, and owned a fly fishing guide business in Bend, Oregon. I dig spearfishing and freediving, both of which are fast becoming new passions, but I kinda suck at them. Haha.

I'm fluent in Spanish having lived in Nicaragua for 5-years where I surfed my brains out. I’m easy to get along with, quick to lend a hand, and am ever-curious and a ready-learner.

I'm well-educated, having completed a Bachelor of Science in Accounting and a Master of Arts in Teaching prior to my Bachelors in Nursing. In addition to working as a Critical Care RN, I manage a quiver of rentals I own. I do all the maintenance and repairs, and consider myself to be well above average when it comes to being capable and handy in repairs and maintenance of homes, cars, and boats.
I'm also quite mechanical, having owned 9 VW Westfalia's over the past 30-years and I do all the maintenance and repairs in addition to rebuilds and upgrades (can drop the motor out on a skateboard!). Additionally, I worked hand-in-hand with my skippers in Alaska in performing routine maintenance, as well as repairs on diesel engines, hydraulics, and anything that moved, or wasn't supposed to, on a fishing vessel. Essentially I was functioning in an assistant-engineer capacity in addition to my duties as a deckhand. I do all of my own maintenance, upgrades, and refitting on my quiver of sailboats I own: Tanzer 22' trailerable, Hobie Cat 16', and a small wooden bathtub I don't know the make of :), but she sure is fun to sail :) !!!

Feel free to ask me anything you'd like. I'm an open book, and I love to share a tale. Life has been an adventure-filled and amazing ride, and I can’t wait to continue to fill my wanderlust-soaked heart with new adventures, experiences, and captivating new friends.

If you’ve made it this far, you’ll be interested to know I’m a single dad to two amazing little girls, Rogue (11) and Zeia (8). We travel as much as their mum will allow us to be away, and are working toward EU citizenship in Portugal. That’s another story altogether!

Feel free to hit me up on WhatsApp using my Spanish number, +34 623 555 699.

--Nico

show hide About me

About me

  • Availability 14th May 2024

  • LocationPanama

  • NationalityUSA

  • Age47

  • GenderMale

  • Fluent languagesEnglish, Spanish

  • Basic knowledge ofPortuguese

  • SmokerNo

  • Visible tattoosNo

  • VISAs B1 / B2 visa (or American citizenship)

  • Sea miles2,500 - 10,000

  • Required position Novice Crew
    Chef
    Competent Crew
    Friendship

  • Location preferenceCaribbean

  • Expected arrangement Professional / Recreational

show hide Photos

Photos

9
show hide Qualifications

Qualifications

2
  • Jun 2004 PADI - Master Instructor Complete

  • May 2007 ASA Bareboat Chartering (Intermediate Coastal Cruising) Complete

show hide Skills

Skills

  • Cooking
  • Microsoft office
  • Photo editing
  • Software development
  • Video editing
  • Waterskiing
  • Tennis
  • Wakeboarding
  • Surfing
  • Free-diving
  • Fishing
  • Route planning
  • Line handling
  • Watch-keeping
  • Whipping and splicing
  • Rig maintenance/Set-up
  • Fore and aft trimming
  • Rigging
  • Radio Operator
  • Weather planning
  • Navigation
  • Helmsmen
  • Crane Operation
  • Blogger/Writer
  • Sales and Marketing
  • Photography
  • Marine First Aid
  • Teaching
  • Diesel engine repair
  • Car mechanic
  • Motor Mechanic
  • Fiberglass Repair
  • Carpentary
  • Plumbing and Heating
  • General building
  • Managerial Skills
  • IT Literate
show hide Feedback

Feedback

0

Only members can leave reviews. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Contact

Contact LuckyNico13

locked

You must be logged in to send a message. or Register.

top
close

Share this profile

close

Profile URL

This URL has automatically been copied to your clipboard.