• contact Send Message
  • menu Menu
  • nycgypsy

    • 56, American
    • United States
    • Checked in 1 week ago

Long-term Cruising Situation Wanted

Happy 2020!

It has been a dream of mine for quite a while to find a kind, knowledgeable Captain and join him as crew for cruising adventures whether paid or unpaid. I grew up lake sailing in the Northeast of the US, primarily as a camp counselor in Vermont. During my Jr. year of college in Spain, I lived and sailed on a wooden sailboat (25 ft.) around the Mediterranean for a month with French hippies. I got a taste of being part of an international sailing community and had some amazing (and even scary) experiences. Since then I have lived and worked on various sailboats in the US and Fiji. I don't mind "grunt work", having volunteered at the South Street Seaport in NYC for winter maintenance on their antique schooners & for "Friendship of Salem" ~ a tallship based MA. I've had a very "off the beaten path" kind of life so far and look forward to the new adventures awaiting me! I'm a keen maritime student, responsible, playful, affectionate, humorous, creative, and very organized. I treat others as I would like to be treated ~ with warmth, kindness and respect. I speak my mind, follow my heart and am always trying to find ways to make life more expansive, fulfilling and FUN! I'm a bit of a Bohemian (raised as an artsy child of the 60's & 70's), a bit glam (Mom was a singer in B'way musicals), and a bit of a tomboy too (volunteered for a month at a remote Dog Sledding camp in Alaska & helped care for 56 Sled Dogs.) I'm very social (but appreciate "quiet time"), a creative cook & excellent provisioner (enjoy drinking wine and the occasional cocktail), speak Spanish, some French/Italian, LOVE nature & animals, swimming in the ocean, foreign languages & cultures, all sorts of music & art, comedy (raised on Monty Python), and contemplating the awe-inspiring mysteries of the universe. The through-line in my life has been living and working as an ESL (English) Teacher in The US, Spain, South Korea, Jordan, Italy, Argentina and Russia. I have also spent a lot of time in Alaska ~ a place which has forever changed my life. My professional background includes sales/marketing/promotions, design, film/theater production, artist's representation and adventure travel. If you have a chartering biz or would like to start one, I am well-suited to help with that. I hope to hear from you soon!

show hide About me

About me

  • Availability 1st January 2020

  • LocationUnited States

  • NationalityAmerican

  • Age56

  • GenderFemale

  • Fluent languagesEnglish, Spanish

  • Basic knowledge ofFrench, Italian

  • SmokerNo

  • Visible tattoosNo

  • VISAs None

  • Sea miles100 - 500

  • Required position Novice Crew
    Chef

  • Expected arrangement Professional / Recreational

show hide Photos

Photos

6
show hide Experience

Experience log

4
Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Skills

Skills

  • Bartender
  • Galley Assistant
  • Provisioning
  • Cooking
  • Microsoft office
  • Photo editing
  • Video editing
  • Aromatherapy
  • Reflexology
  • Route planning
  • Line handling
  • Watch-keeping
  • Sail repairs
  • Navigation
  • Yoga
  • Meditation
  • Flower arranger
  • Blogger/Writer
  • Cinematography
  • Sales and Marketing
  • Photography
  • Teaching
  • Varnishing
  • Polishing
  • Cleaning
  • Managerial Skills
  • IT Literate
  • Swedish
  • Radio Operator
  • Weather planning
  • Nutritionist
show hide Q&A

Q&A

3
Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Feedback

Feedback

0

Only members can leave reviews. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Contact

Contact nycgypsy

locked

You must be logged in to send a message. or Register.

top
close

Share this profile

close

Profile URL

This URL has automatically been copied to your clipboard.