• contact Send Message
  • menu Menu
  • kklein

    • 62, American
    • India
    • Checked in 3 days ago

Wanting to learn more, feel the wind in my hair, and enjoy the journey!

Looking for a new learning experience combined with travel. I have only spent a month or so at sea, but love it and want to learn more and wander. I am motivated, flexible, easy going, committed, and excel at all I do. I am a seasoned traveler (over 60 countries traveling alone), speak fluent English and Spanish, extremely adaptable, resourceful, easy going and happy.

I currently reside in the Himalayas of northern India where I volunteer, teaching young Buddhist monks in the monasteries and started a non-profit to help recruit more resources and teachers into these remote schools. Winters are frigid and schools all close so I am seeking warmer weather and time on the water. The destination is not that important. It is the journey that counts!

Availalbe mid February 2022 and will meet you when/where and won't let you down!. Looking to share experiences and laughter, learn more about sailing, see new horizons, and feel the wind in my hair! I am more comfortable in the water than on land and yet spend most of my year in the Himalayas, far from the sea. I love the water. I once tread water for 8 hours setting up a ski course with no problem. I must have been a marine animal my previous life!

am looking for a position where I can share the work while learning so much more about sailing and expereincing new friends and journeys.. I have crewed from Indonesia and also Sea of Cortez but want to learn so much more. I am extremely responsible, flexible, and resourceful, a fast learner and problem solver, laid back, easy going, and happy. I am PADI certified (in the Galapagos Islands) but over a decade ago. I have traveled alone in over 60 countries and enjoy the adventure of living and learning. I sailed with Bill on the Amaranth and learned a great deal. I love sailing upwind using only the telltails on the jib!

I travel lightly and live quite frugally, never carry more than 7 kg regardless of how long or where. II have had numerous professions including archaeologist, anthropologist, project coordinator for the Charles Darwin Research Station in the Galapagos and have been teaching internationally for the last decade. I presently reside Ladakh, in the Himalayas of Northern India where I started a non-profit. I am taking a year off to wander the world, so completely flexible. Fluent in Spanish and native English speaker. Incredibly responsible, honest, super resourceful, a problem solver, ask questions to clarify when needed, beleive in doing a job right the first time, happy and content with wherever I am and whatever situation arises. I love connectiong with people, especially locals wherever I go, learning about new cultures, landscapes, but never tire of being on or in the water.

I live very frugally and know how to conserve resources, especially water. I am accustomed to handwashing, bucket baths, no electricity or wifi, creating things from what I have around me. I have not had an oven or refridgerator/freezer for the last 12 years. Spent over a decade living in 'South America and lived in Togo, West Africa, Repbulic of Gerogia and other odd places., I do not need to be entertained and have spent a month alone on a mountain in meditation. I see the beauty around me and try to focus on the good in each person. I create my own happiness as it is an inside job.

Easy going, extremely responsible, very capable and fast learner, completley trustworthy, eager to learn and work together, flexible, and very resourceful. You won't regret choosing me to join you on your boat. Please consider my application and not how far I am from you or my age. Happy to skype with you (or messenger, whatsapp, facetime, etc) first!

I want to learn more about sailing and you are the one who can teach me.
Here's to sharing the journey!
kelly

(confident swimmer, mever seasick, good listener, good communicator, travel light (little luggage), respectful, clean & tidy, committed, eager to learn & work, fit & healthy, friendly, polite, respectful, diligent, positive outlook, skilled, organised, trustworthy, open minded, enthusiastic, easy going, sense of humor, , don't mind cleaning, good with maintenance, can follow orders, enjoy teaching, interpreting, live on little money, learn a language)






show hide About me

About me

  • Availability 1st July 2018

  • LocationIndia

  • NationalityAmerican

  • Age62

  • GenderFemale

  • Fluent languagesEnglish, Spanish

  • SmokerNo

  • Visible tattoosNo

  • VISAs None

  • Sea miles500 - 2,500

  • Required position Novice Crew
    Teacher
    Voluntary work
    Deckhand

  • Location preferenceEurope

  • Expected arrangement Professional / Recreational

show hide Photos

Photos

5
show hide Qualifications

Qualifications

1
  • Jan 2013 PADI - Open Water Complete

show hide Q&A

Q&A

2
Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Feedback

Feedback

0

Only members can leave reviews. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Contact

Contact kklein

locked

You must be logged in to send a message. or Register.

top
close

Share this profile

close

Profile URL

This URL has automatically been copied to your clipboard.