• contact Send Message
  • menu Menu
  • Josh Banks

    • 25, South African / British
    • Spain
    • Checked in 3 weeks ago

Watch: Pacer27 Race yacht Cape town Nationals - Bowman

16-24m Sailing yacht Captain - Seasonal and deliveries - Spain

To whom it may concern.

I hope this finds you well?

Please see below introduction and attached CV:

I grew up sailing on a small dam in Cape town next to the ocean, the first dinghy I owned was a South African designed and built wooden "Dabchick". I learnt to sail on this boat and spent many days, weeks, months and years down at the dam enjoying the sport of sailing and honing my skills. Shortly after getting in to the competitive side of dinghy sailing I began to teach through the same program which got me into sailing. I enjoyed giving back to the community as well as passing my knowledge and passion onto the next generation of sailors in South Africa.

Progressing from dinghies, I stepped onto keel boats at the age of 13. By 15 I had competed in three Lipton Cup Challenges back to back in Cape Town (2007-2009), as well as being selected as the helmsman for 2008 campaign. I have been sailing out of Cape Town in the Atlantic ocean for many years and find comfort at sea, even in the toughest conditions. I am great with people and make the best of ever situation.

In my previous seasons I worked as a captain aboard a Private 17m sailing yacht. Even though I was the only crew man on board for much of the season, I enjoyed my time and experience running a sailing yacht. I progressed to chief officer on board a 40m sailing yacht for the following two years. I enjoyed working on big sailing yachts however I would like to go back to my roots of sailing and work aboard sailing yachts which actually sail. My goal is to run my own 25-30m sailing yacht however I am open to any opportunity that involves sailing.

I hope the above paragraphs allowed you some insight into the character of person I am, my connection to yachting and direction in which I hope to build my career.

I thank you for your time and consideration.
Hope to hear from you.

Best Regards
Josh Banks

show hide About me

About me

  • Availability Available now

  • LocationSpain

  • NationalitySouth African / British

  • Age25

  • GenderMale

  • Fluent languagesEnglish

  • Basic knowledge ofSpanish

  • SmokerNo

  • Visible tattoosNo

  • VISAs None

  • Sea miles2,500 - 10,000

  • Required position Captain
    1st Mate
    Sailing instructor

  • Expected arrangement Professional

show hide Photos


Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Experience

Experience log

Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Qualifications


  • Jul 2017 RYA Yachtmaster Complete

  • Jul 2017 RYA Power Boat Level II Complete

  • Sep 2017 STCW2010 Compliant Complete

  • Sep 2017 ENG1 cert. Complete

  • Feb 2012 RYA Dinghy Instructor Complete

show hide Skills


  • Microsoft office
  • Waterskiing
  • Windsurfing
  • Wakeboarding
  • Surfing
  • Canyoning
  • Kite surfer
  • Fishing
  • Route planning
  • Line handling
  • Watch-keeping
  • Rig maintenance/Set-up
  • Fore and aft trimming
  • Rigging
  • Helmsmen
  • Teaching
  • Motor Mechanic
  • Polishing
  • Cleaning
  • Managerial Skills
  • IT Literate
  • Climbing
  • Sail repairs
  • Navigation
  • Tender driving
show hide Q&A


Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Feedback



Only members can leave reviews. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Contact

Contact Josh Banks


You must be logged in to send a message. or Register.


Share this profile


Profile URL

This URL has automatically been copied to your clipboard.