• contact Send Message
  • menu Menu
  • SailingJulian

    • 23, Deutschland
    • Germany
    • Checked in 1 day ago

Mile building or deliveries, at this time preferably within Europe. I`m fully vaccinated!

I'm a 23 years old engineering student from northern Germany and looking for mile-building or deliveries.
I am fully vaccinated against COVID 19!

I used to sail 2-3 weeks as crew each summer on a 20m sailtraining gaff-schooner, often participating in the offshore "Tallships Races" regatta in the North- or Baltic Sea.

Since I started my bachelors, university schedule and my other hobby (flying gilders) kept me busy, but I have usually manage to sail offshore 1-2 weeks/year, which I would very much like to increase in a financially efficient way.

I would like to help with deliveries or assist short handed crews on their passages!

I have more then 3500 nm of sailing experience in the Baltic and North sea and have proven to be reliable with shorthanded crew, beeing on watch alone.
For my accurate steering I have been nicknamed "autopilot" on more than one occasion and I have actually never had issues with seasickness :)

Since I don't sail as much as I would like, I feel a little bit "rusty" but am sure to quickly be back to routine as soon as I am at sea.


I only have the german "Sportbootführerschein" (which is recognized is ICC certificate) for inland and coastal waters and the "Long range certificate" LRC radio operators licence. My knowledge and skills go beyond that and I have in mind to get the SSS-license (german equivalent to RYA Yachtmaster offshore) in the medium term future, when I mange to sail more often.

I feel confident navigating, be it with ECS, papercharts or both (I also regularly practice celestial nav for fun).

I am aware of and comfortable with AIS, COLREGS, IALA and the identification of buoys and vessels at night. I haven't had the opportunity to familiarize myself with radar though.

I consider meteorology as my weaker spot, but I have an understanding of weather systems, am able to make rough interpretations of surface weather charts, 500mb charts and know how to use GRIB-files.

I would describe myself as a rather calm but self-confident person, easy to get along with and reliable.
However, getting to know works best through a conversion on phone or skype.

If you need crew and think that I could maybe meet your expectations, feel free to get in touch!

Fair winds,
Julian

show hide About me

About me

  • Availability Available now

  • LocationGermany

  • NationalityDeutschland

  • Age23

  • GenderMale

  • Fluent languagesGerman, English

  • Basic knowledge ofFrench

  • SmokerNo

  • Visible tattoosNo

  • VISAs Schengen visa (or EU citizenship)

  • Sea miles2,500 - 10,000

  • Required position Mile building
    Delivery Crew

  • Location preferenceEurope

  • Expected arrangement Professional / Recreational

show hide Qualifications

Qualifications

4
  • Jan 2020 DSV- Sportkuestenschifferschein (SKS) Progressing

  • Jan 2016 DSV - SKN Complete

  • Sep 2015 DSV - SBF See Complete

  • Sep 2015 DSV - SBF Binnen Complete

show hide Skills

Skills

  • Line handling
  • Watch-keeping
  • Whipping and splicing
  • Weather planning
  • Navigation
  • Helmsmen
  • Tender driving
  • Small Aircraft Pilot
  • Teaching
  • Fiberglass Repair
  • General building
  • Varnishing
  • Polishing
  • Cleaning
  • Route planning
  • Radio Operator
show hide Feedback

Feedback

0

Only members can leave reviews. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Contact

Contact SailingJulian

locked

You must be logged in to send a message. or Register.

top
close

Share this profile

close

Profile URL

This URL has automatically been copied to your clipboard.