• contact Send Message
  • menu Menu
  • solber

    • 72, british
    • Spain
    • Checked in 3 weeks ago

Ex RFA with Chief Engineers ticket ( Diesel ) Looking to sail anywhere.

Hi - Very practical guy. First and foremost I am an engineer. I have sailed vessels of all sizes. I have held positions of senior watch keeping engineering officer on large ships and and so know and understand the responsibilities that position carries with it. I have done this for weeks at a time. I have handled power and sail vessels over the years although I have no formal RYA qualifications. I am proficient and knowledgeable. I can turn my hand to almost anything from engine/transmission rebuilds to cooking a pretty decent curry ( and a whole lot more ! ) and brilliant BBQ skills! I have some recipes that wont disappoint. You will love my spicy fish chowder halfway through your 12 - 4 night watch! Or maybe that would be MY watch! lol. Having lived ( mainly ) alone for the last 16 years I can assure you I am fully domesticated! I currently work for a motorsport team and as you can imagine excellence is paramount in everything we do.
Will to work everyday whether that is watchkeeping or maintenance etc. Not looking to contribute towards the vessels journey costs - the journey has to be at the expense of the skip/owner but you will not be disappointed. All I would ask is that my work can be seen as the contribution for ship maintenance and a bunk. I will leave it to you to determine whether I add value to your vessel - and if I don't you can send me home. Of course I will look for professional paid jobs that could suit me but money is not everything. The right recreational opportunity would be quite welcome. Having said that I'm not looking for a holiday. I do enough of that as it is. I have a wealth of experience and want to pass that on to the next generation. If you are looking for a happy, well educated, fit and healthy ( no health issues at all and fully insured! ) , fun, up for nearly everything , with vast experience ( in life ), polite and personable soul, message me .
John

show hide About me

About me

  • Availability Available now

  • LocationSpain

  • Nationalitybritish

  • Age72

  • GenderMale

  • Fluent languagesEnglish, Spanish

  • SmokerNo

  • Visible tattoosNo

  • VISAs Schengen visa (or EU citizenship)

  • Sea miles10,000+

  • Required position Friendship
    1st Engineer

  • Expected arrangement Professional / Recreational

show hide Photos

Photos

3
Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Experience

Experience log

2
Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Qualifications

Qualifications

1
  • Jan 1973 ENG1 cert. Complete

show hide Skills

Skills

  • Cooking
  • Microsoft office
  • Photo editing
  • Fishing
  • Route planning
  • Line handling
  • Watch-keeping
  • Whipping and splicing
  • Rig maintenance/Set-up
  • Fore and aft trimming
  • Rigging
  • Radio Operator
  • Navigation
  • Helmsmen
  • Crane Operation
  • Small Aircraft Pilot
  • Photography
  • Tender driving
  • Diesel engine repair
  • Car mechanic
  • Motor Mechanic
  • Welder
  • Fiberglass Repair
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Carpentary
  • Plumbing and Heating
  • General building
  • Varnishing
  • Polishing
  • Cleaning
  • Managerial Skills
  • IT Literate
  • Filing & Fairing
  • Sales and Marketing
show hide Q&A

Q&A

10
Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Feedback

Feedback

0

Only members can leave reviews. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Contact

Contact solber

locked

You must be logged in to send a message. or Register.

top
close

Share this profile

close

Profile URL

This URL has automatically been copied to your clipboard.