• contact Send Message
  • menu Menu
  • umit ozkan

    • 42, turkish
    • Italy
    • Checked in 1 month ago

I am looking for a captain position.

I have windsurfed, sailed dinghies and hobiecats since 1993. I have 1 crossing and around 30.000 miles under my belt as a captain within the East and West Med, Atlantic and Adriatic seas for races, owner cruises, charters and deliveries in all type of yachts up to 32 mts. I do manage refits and new builds, capable in terms of engineering, team building and management, clerical works, flags and private/commercial transitions, budgeting / cost control and yacht shows.

I do have a master 500 GT and all necessary documents.

show hide About me

About me

  • Availability Available now

  • LocationItaly

  • Nationalityturkish

  • Age42

  • GenderMale

  • Fluent languagesEnglish, French, Turkish

  • SmokerNo

  • Visible tattoosNo

  • VISAs Schengen visa (or EU citizenship)

  • Sea miles10,000+

  • Required position Captain

  • Expected arrangement Professional

show hide Experience

Experience log

    • Date: 1st March 2022

      Duration: 20 months

      Experience Type: Professional

    • Working for a 27 M/Y. We started the trip in may 2022 from Turkey to finish in Montenegro. We did charter between Montenegro and Croatia in summer 2023. We then left to cruise with the owner in the west med and we finished in Italy/Loano.

    • Date: 1st February 2022

      Duration: 30 days

      Experience Type: Professional

    • Project manager for the refit of a 24 meter wooden yacht.

    • Date: 1st February 2020

      Duration: 12 months

      Experience Type: Professional

    • Working as captain for a 22 mt sailing yacht, between istanbul and antalya.

    • Date: 1st May 2019

      Duration: 7 months

      Experience Type: Professional

    • Working as captain for a 16 mt sailing yacht, between patmos and antalya during the whole summer season.

    • Date: 1st May 2017

      Duration: 2 years

      Experience Type: Professional

    • working as a captain for a 20 mt yacht (hanse 675) with a very busy private usage (35 weeks). We did sail from istanbul to athens and from athens to antalya while cruising most of the islands and the coves of the turkish cost during the process.

    • Date: 1st December 2014

      Duration: 1 month

      Experience Type: Mile building

    • Atlantic crossing as a crew.

    • Date: 1st January 2013

      Duration: 3 years

      Experience Type: Professional

    • Working as skipper for a charter company (sunscape yachting) doing their deliveries and their charter skipper for clients. I was also working as their base manager in Turkey, doing all kind of basic repairs and maintenances, including wintering and refit. I was organizing technical teams for harder works.

show hide Qualifications


  • Mar 2023 ENG1 cert. Complete

  • Feb 2017 STCW Personal Safety and Social Responsibility Complete

  • Feb 2017 STCW Basic Safety Training Complete

  • Feb 2017 STCW Fire Fighting Complete

  • Feb 2017 STCW 1st Aid Complete

  • Feb 2017 Short Range VHF / GMDSS Complete

  • Feb 2017 STCW Radio Communications Complete

  • Feb 2017 STCW Able Seamens Complete

show hide Skills


  • Microsoft office
  • Windsurfing
  • Wakeboarding
  • Route planning
  • Line handling
  • Watch-keeping
  • Fore and aft trimming
  • Radio Operator
  • Weather planning
  • Navigation
  • Helmsmen
  • Tender driving
  • Sales and Marketing
  • Teaching
  • Diesel engine repair
  • Carpentary
  • Varnishing
  • Polishing
  • Cleaning
  • Managerial Skills
  • Filing & Fairing
  • Sail repairs
  • Rigging
  • Provisioning
  • Fiberglass Repair
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Plumbing and Heating
  • budgeting
show hide Feedback



Only members can leave reviews. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Contact

Contact umit ozkan


You must be logged in to send a message. or Register.


Share this profile


Profile URL

This URL has automatically been copied to your clipboard.