• contact Send Message
  • menu Menu
  • Manitou

    • 36, Canada
    • New Zealand
    • Checked in 1 month ago

Looking for a boat heading towards Maui for October 2020

Hi there,
My name is Adam and I've been traveling around the world for over a year now. I started in Lisbon Portugal with my bike and some camping gear and road up to the north coast of Spain. I found a 1971 6m Jeanneau Flirt named Bare and brought him back to life. Fixed all the leaky loose nuts and bolts. Re-rigged everything moving all the blocks and cleats around for comfy custom solo sailing. And then I made a tiny home inside with my ticketed carpentry skills. I sailed Bare from Plentzia Spain up to La Rochelle France in the summer of 2019 and will make it back there in the next year or so to have some more fun with him and then sell him.
I've made my way from there to Ireland, australia and have now been in New Zealand since the beginning of 2020. Working on some personal growth at different volunteer sites where I exchange my time and skills as a carpenter for food and a place to stay.
Along with having owned 2 small sailboats in my life and playing around the coasts of BC Canada and the north Spanish and west France coasts, I've crew with several boats back home in Victoria BC Canada and done fairly well with that I'd say. We won a race called the Swiftsure in our division and placed very well in other over night races. It was with a 27' 1973 CNC and the captain with such a wealth of knowledge, having grown up around boats and being a captain for the Canadian coast guard.
Another skill I have is of being a medic first responder. I worked in northern BC for the oil and gas industry with this ticket and a relatable skill I gained up there aside from preventing injuries and fixing them was working long stints of night shift. 20 days on for 12 hours a day.
Another achievement I'm proud of is while working a full-time construction job, I built a house for myself back in 2012. With the help of a lot of good tradesmen of course, but I did a lot of the work myself including coordinating the different contractors and such. A rewarding 9 month process.

show hide About me

About me

  • Availability Available now

  • LocationNew Zealand

  • NationalityCanada

  • Age36

  • GenderMale

  • Fluent languagesEnglish

  • SmokerNo

  • Visible tattoosNo

  • VISAs Adam Wilton

  • Sea miles100 - 500

  • Required position Competent Crew
    Friendship
    Voluntary work
    Deckhand

  • Location preferenceAustralia / Oceania

  • Expected arrangement Professional / Recreational

show hide Photos

Photos

4
Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Experience

Experience log

1
Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Qualifications

Qualifications

1
  • Jan 2020 1st Aid Progressing

show hide Feedback

Feedback

0

Only members can leave reviews. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Contact

Contact Manitou

locked

You must be logged in to send a message. or Register.

top
close

Share this profile

close

Profile URL

This URL has automatically been copied to your clipboard.