• contact Send Message
  • menu Menu
  • Sefania

    • 20, German
    • Germany
    • Checked in 1 month ago

Looking for TRANSATLANTIK WEST-EAST in June/July/August 2023, from anywhere in America to anywhere in Europe

Hey, my name is Sefania.
Im 19 Years old, from Germany, searching for a boat I can join for Transatlantic this summer. Preferable delivery.

What I can offer:
A young, physically well build female, who is deeply willing to everyday put in the hours of hard work, doing, what I can be usefull for on board.
My sailing experience till now: sailing with a PROA from Panamarina (Panama) to Necocli (Colombia), with a friend from Europe. He had 5 years of experience sailing in Europe and Transatlantik and worked on a shipyard in Denmark. He build the boat himself in Colon, Panama. Together we sailed to San Blas, did island hopping Hollandaise, Robeson Island and down Nargana until Arkandi. There we crossed in a one day sail the golf to Necocli. During this 1,5 months he teached me what he could. I learned to read the gust, tacking , jibing, steering the boat via eyesight and compass, handling the ropes and with it the sail and did hours and hours of enthusiastical bailing.
I am deeply excited to gain more experience!
As I look forward to start university in October in Germany and am currently traveling through South America, I would love to take the chance to come back to Europe on a boat.

Other experience:
I have been on on different boats before, but not as crew. E.g. crossing from France to England during storm.

I love cooking and was often in charge of cooking for guest in Cabanas in Romania, as well as general for family. I have no problem at all with cleaning, nightshifts etc.
I have years of experience with teaching children from all ages as well.

I would describe myself as a tidy and organized, calm and realiable person, who is getting very well along with any and everybody. I am realistic with a tendency to optimicm and I enjoy a good conversation.

I`m willing to help where, when and however I can on board. I`m used to physical labour, as I`m half Romanian and since I was a kid I spend the boiling hot summers in The Carpathians watching out for cows on the pasture, helping all day long with making hay in the old, hard traditional way (no machines, no nothing, just wooden tools and a scythe on the mountain hillside. And after 1,5 months out at sea during daylight, I can say, that I am also working good and hard not only on land but also at sea.

For me, sailing is an adventure. Through wisdom, you gain over the years, you can play with the sea better and better, end of the day you are still just in a little nutshell on a big ocean, that could crash you easily. For me, being down to earth is really important, and i think, who is going the better teach me being down to earth then the elements themselves.
Besides living together with crew. Facing the everydays tasks and challenges together and living for some time on an often small space can be of course hard and by that you learn a lot about yourself and are given the chance to improve.
Maybe I just read to much Jack London when I was younger, but there is a beauty within I can yet barely describe.

I am well aware that I am not asking for a vacation here, but for long and hard hours of daily work at day and night, hot sun and (hopefully not but possible) storms and heavy rain.
Please contact me for everything else.
I am looking forward to meet you!

show hide About me

About me

  • Availability 30th June 2023

  • LocationGermany

  • NationalityGerman

  • Age20

  • GenderFemale

  • Fluent languagesEnglish, German, Romanian

  • Basic knowledge ofRussian, Spanish

  • SmokerNo

  • Visible tattoosNo

  • VISAs Schengen visa (or EU citizenship)

  • Sea miles100 - 500

  • Required position Deckhand
    Delivery Crew
    Mile building
    Cook

  • Location preferenceNorth Atlantic

  • Expected arrangement Professional / Recreational

show hide Photos

Photos

4
Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Experience

Experience log

1
Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Qualifications

Qualifications

1
  • Jun 2022 1st Aid Complete

show hide Skills

Skills

  • Cooking
  • Microsoft office
  • Photo editing
  • Software development
  • Video editing
  • Climbing
  • Fishing
  • Yoga
  • Meditation
  • Sales and Marketing
  • Photography
  • Teaching
  • Musician
  • General building
  • Polishing
  • Cleaning
  • Canyoning
  • Line handling
  • Watch-keeping
  • Carpentary
show hide Feedback

Feedback

1

Only members can leave reviews. or Sign up, it's FREE!

A Brave and Tenacious Crewmember

5

Sefania went with me on a trip through San Blas Archipelago in Panama to Colombia in a proa-style sailing canoe with very low freeboard and less than 6m length. Despite high seas relative to the boat and sea sickness, she stubbornly kept bailing out all the water that kept entering. She was fearless and enduring and was also tending the sheet and spiller line of the sail as well as the leeboard. Later on in the trip, we switched places and she also steered the boat with the tiller during coastal navigation as well as by compass when we crossed the bay of Uraba on a windy and cloudy day. We had an enjoyable trip of a month and a half together visiting the indigenous Kuna people and exploring the crystal clear waters around the islands and the silty rivers of the mainland. She is a positive person that smiles a lot and is a good conversation partner.

14th May 2023

show hide Contact

Contact Sefania

locked

You must be logged in to send a message. or Register.

top
close

Share this profile

close

Profile URL

This URL has automatically been copied to your clipboard.