• contact Send Message
  • menu Menu
  • tobixen

    • 48, norwegian
    • Turkey
    • Checked in 4 days ago
show hide Adverts

Adverts

  • Marmaris-Istanbul-Bulgaria-Istanbul NOW

    Staying in Marmaris nearby Rhodes now, doing some work and maintenance on the boat - but probably towards the end of next week I'll start heading north - towards Bodrum, Istanbul ... and if I have time, a trip to Bulgaria (for no other reason that I can and th...

show hide Skipper details

Skipper

  • Nationalitynorwegian

  • Age48

  • GenderMale

  • Fluent languages English
    Norwegian

  • Sea Miles 10,000+

SY Solveig is my third boat, I've been sailing in it since 2013. No formal competence in sailing except that I (recently) did the Norwegian general boating license (which is optional in Norway for people born prior to 1980). A friend gave me a one-hour crash course in sailing when I had purchased my first boat. Sometimes I jokingly tell that I "have no idea what I'm doing" - if the crew have strong opinions on how the sails should be trimmed, I usually leave the trimming to the crew. Anyway, I have plenty of experience now, I've been sailing a lot with my family, quite a lot single-handed, and frequently with arbitrary crew or guests on board as well.

I try to do most of the repairs and maintenance work onboard myself, so I'm a jack of all trades - knows a little bit of how to work with epoxy, varnish, electricity, plumbing, carpentry, etc, etc, but I'm an expert on nothing.

I have a day-time job with IT, I'm allowed to do "home office" and work from anywhere in the EU. I'm trying to get back to Oslo and our physical office 9-10 times a year.

I have a family, a wife and four children, one of them is working in Oslo, the others are going to school in St.Petersburg. We had the idea of doing home schooling while doing this mediterranean trip, but I did not have the capacity to both do sailing, maintaining the boat, working full time, doing my part of the chores and then take responsibility for the education in addition, so my wife took them back to physical school. They're coming back to the boat for the vacations.

I'm quite flexible in the diet, I can eat almost everything. When vegan crew members join, I try to eat mostly vegan food.

show hide Vessel

Vessel

  • TypeSailing Yacht

  • Make/modelOne off / Bruce Roberts

  • Length13 metres

  • Berth6

  • Language spoke aboardEnglish

  • Boat descriptionSY Solveig is constructed from wood and epoxy. It's more optimized for comfort than sailing - it does not sail very sharp towards the wind - so I'm trying to avoid legs where a lot of tacking is to be expected. It has a cockpit tent which generally makes it possible to sail comfortably in almost any weather. All sails except the baby stay jib can be handled from the cockpit. The sail wardrobe is relatively new, some few years old. Furling sails on the genoa and main sail. We have lots of bikes, lots of toys and books (children are welcome on board), SUP, indoor shower, two toilets, etc. Radar, VHF, autopilot, 25 kg Rocna anchor, claw anchor, etc. Boat is unfortunately not optimized for a lot of crew - but we've been six adults and six children on the most, for a 4-day journey. It was tight, but it did work out. There is one aft cabin with a big double bed (which is usually occupied by the captain), one fore cabin with a double bed, one upper saloon with a corner sofa, one lower saloon with a sofa that can be made into a double bed, and possible to squeeze in some extra people here and there like in the cockpit. Unfortunately, few good sleeping options for rough weather. I have one hammock, but haven't considered where it's best to hang it yet.

show hide Photos

Photos

6
show hide Feedback

Feedback

3

Only members can leave reviews. or Sign up, it's FREE!

Thumb's up

5

Together with an other crew, I had an enjoyable time on Solveig. It's a unique ship with a welcoming skipper, who made me feel at home immediately. While doing a mix of short trips and longer passages, including night sailing. I had the opportunity to test my sailing skills under supervision of the skipper. In four weeks we made around 500 miles. I had an exceptional good time and learned plenty about life aboard.

13th Feb 2024

Great captain and beautiful boat.

5

I spent 3 great weeks on board of Sloveig, from Dubrovnik,Croatia to Paros, Greece. Toby is a great captain and a very cool and nice person. We got along very well and since he saw he could relate on me and the rest of the crew, he left us free to handle the boat (of course he always was ready to intervene if needed) if the condition permitted it. Doing so he let the crew experimenting and acquire REAL experience, and also he's ready to explain and teach if you have a doubt or you want to know something. In the personal side he is a very easygoing and interesting person to be with. I'd definitely join him again in the future!

25th Jan 2024

Perfect Skipper - great travel companion.

5

I crewed for Tobias from 19th November 2023 till 5th January 2024. A perfect very hands on and capable skipper who knows his boat and how to sail very well. Level headed, calm and collected even in the worst of conditions. Always have time and patience to explain/teach and has the confidence to let the crew learn through experimentation (when safe). As a travel companion, he's well travelled and cultured. He's also easy going, flexible and energetic. I enjoyed this voyage greatly and God willing; will share more voyages in the future.

9th Jan 2024

show hide Contact

Contact

locked

You must be logged in to send a message. or Register.

Phone number* * * locked * * *

Personal URL https://solveig.oslo.no

top
close

Share this profile

close

Profile URL

This URL has automatically been copied to your clipboard.