• contact Send Message
  • menu Menu
  • MikeFairlie

    • 27, Australia
    • Australia
    • Checked in 1 month ago

Looking for a Novice Crew or Voluntary work position - East Coast of Australia

Hi there! I'm a biologist trying to get some sailing experience under my belt in 2020. Hopefully in 2021 I'll be ready to head over to Indonesia and then who knows from there!

I love the sea. I grew up in Port Douglas 50m from the beach and then lived on the Sunshine Coast not much further from the sea. I swam competitively for many years and was involved in Surf Life Saving for 6 years. Now I get to the beach whenever I can for a surf.

Sailing has interested me for a long time however I haven't been able to sail due to study obligations. I'm very keen to learn and help out on trips up, down and around Australia and surroundings if you'd have me on board!

I'm an easy-going, adaptable, sociable guy looking to get more sailing experience. Currently I'm in Brisbane but can travel to meet up. I love to cook and I like living in a clean environment. I've travelled extensively throughout Europe, Latin America, the US and Australia. Other interests are music, surfing, reading, learning new things, photography, ecology, playing cards/chess, and having a few tinnies. I have a passion for maps and geography/biogeography as well as meteorology.

A little about myself, my interests and my plans:
confident swimmer, rarely/unlikely seasick, good listener, good communicator, travel light (little luggage), respectful, clean & tidy, eager to learn & work, fit & healthy, friendly, polite, LGBTIQ accepting, diligent, organised, trustworthy, open minded, easy going, sense of humour, can pay own expenses, available on my own, enjoy cooking, don't mind cleaning, can follow orders, interpreting, buy my own boat one day, live on little money, learn a language

I've been a competitive swimmer/surf lifesaver for many years so water-related activities are no problem. Love a good surf when I can get it. At home I tend to have a plant-based diet but that is flexible, especially when travelling. I love to cook and I'm pretty tidy. Living in share-houses for the last 6 years has taught me how to live with other people.

My motivation and reasons to crew on a boat:
share experience, visit remote places, seek adventure, face challenges, gain experience, learn to sail, live off the grid, sustainable travel, travel

I've always wanted to learn to sail. It's been put on the back-burner for too long so now I'm committing myself to it. Also, being an environmental scientist I'm looking for ways to travel the world in a low-carbon way. Sailing seems to fit the low emissions bill as well as teaching me the invaluable skill of sailing!

show hide About me

About me

  • Availability Available now

  • LocationAustralia

  • NationalityAustralia

  • Age27

  • GenderMale

  • Fluent languagesEnglish, Spanish

  • SmokerNo

  • Visible tattoosNo

  • VISAs None

  • Sea miles0 - 100

  • Required position Novice Crew
    Voluntary work

  • Location preferenceAustralia / Oceania

  • Expected arrangement Recreational

show hide Photos

Photos

5
Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Feedback

Feedback

0

Only members can leave reviews. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Contact

Contact MikeFairlie

locked

You must be logged in to send a message. or Register.

top
close

Share this profile

close

Profile URL

This URL has automatically been copied to your clipboard.