• contact Send Message
  • menu Menu
  • Diesel 42 HP

    • 61, NL
    • Netherlands
    • Checked in 4 months ago

Looking for a Novice Crew position

From age 19 to 28 I was in the Dutch navy as an Mechanical Engineer, so this explaines my 500+ days at sea, and my nautical miles. Since this was not a sailing ship, my experience in sailing is very low. But I am willing to learn....For my oncoming future (10 years or so) I am certainly going to learn how to sail and cruise around the world. Since 2021 I own a 28 ft Jakon cruiser. In 2019 I sailed the ARC+ with a 56 ft ketch called The Flying Dolphin.

confident swimmer, rarely/unlikely seasick, good listener, good communicator, no body piercings, no facial piercings, visible tattoos, travel light (little luggage), respectful, clean & tidy, committed, eager to learn & work, fit & healthy, friendly, polite, LGBTIQ accepting, positive outlook, skilled, organised, discreet, trustworthy, open minded, enthusiastic, easy going, sense of humor, can pay own expenses, don't mind cleaning, good with maintenance, can follow orders, enjoy teaching, interpreting, buy my own boat one day, live on little money, learn a language

I am not an experienced Diver, but do have my PADI licence and 7 open water dives. Mechanically I am good educated. I used to work with gasturbines, diesels and compressors. I also have a degree as technical engineer.
My motivation is that when I retire (in 1 to 2 years) I want to live on a boat and see the world. Visit nice places with nice people. The oncoming 3 to 5 years I want to use to gain experience and learn how to do this.

UPDATE 2022: I am retiring on 01/05/2022, but due to saved holydays i am able to sail from 01-04-2022.
I am a divorced father of 3, who are staying at my house. They are fully grown and can provide for themselves. (21, 21, 26). I am a smoker, but i am willing to stop that if is really nescessery.
Right now (May 2022) I find myself in the Carribean with two months to spare until my return flight home. This time will be filled in with a Dutch Catamaran who wants to travel back to IJmuiden, Netherlands.
The journey took 35 days, we reached the Azores.

show hide About me

About me

  • Availability Available now

  • LocationNetherlands

  • NationalityNL

  • Age61

  • GenderMale

  • Fluent languagesEnglish, Dutch

  • Basic knowledge ofGerman, French

  • SmokerNo

  • Visible tattoosYes

  • VISAs None

  • Sea miles500 - 2,500

  • Required position Competent Crew
    1st Engineer
    Mechanic/Deckhand
    Novice Crew

  • Expected arrangement Professional / Recreational

show hide Photos

Photos

2
Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Experience

Experience log

5
Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Qualifications

Qualifications

5
  • Jan 1985 Safety at Sea/Sea Survival Complete

  • May 2000 Boat Operator Licence Complete

  • Aug 2021 Short Range VHF / GMDSS Complete

  • Sep 2020 ICC Power/Sail Complete

  • Mar 2017 PADI - Open Water Complete

show hide Skills

Skills

  • Microsoft office
  • Photo editing
  • Scuba diving
  • Route planning
  • Line handling
  • Watch-keeping
  • Sail repairs
  • Radio Operator
  • Navigation
  • Helmsmen
  • Crane Operation
  • Diesel engine repair
  • Motor Mechanic
  • Welder
  • Plumbing and Heating
show hide Q&A

Q&A

2
Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Feedback

Feedback

0

Only members can leave reviews. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Contact

Contact Diesel 42 HP

locked

You must be logged in to send a message. or Register.

top
close

Share this profile

close

Profile URL

This URL has automatically been copied to your clipboard.