• contact Send Message
  • menu Menu
  • Valentin.R

    • 29, French
    • Portugal
    • Checked in 1 month ago

Looking for a Cook, Diver, Mechanic/Deckhand or Cook/Stew position

Hi there, I m Valentin, 29.
I'm a former French mechanical engineer.
The last 10 years I I worked around the world as a "master" rum distiller, aeronautical metrologist, steam generator maintenance manager..
I have a versatile technical background about engineering. That allows me to be quite polyvalent onboard.
I grew up in the mountains in the pyrenees where my family is renovating a castle. There I was in charge of the teams on different worksites too.

I am easy going, always singing a new song from my random brain playlist. I can beat box, play guitar, sing, do percussions, but also shut my mouth if needed.

In 2015 I started to get involved to protect our environment. I was spearfishing at this time and I realised this hobby was not appropriate anymore in this world.
I became an activist, as a media maker for NGOs.(photograoher and videographer), then as a Vegan chef and recently as a marine mechanic. Mostly for Sea Shepherd France/Global on various campaign to protect turtles, dolphins, sharks..

My life is driven by the awareness that there will never be too much efforts involved in conservation.

My experiences at sea are the following :

-Chef and 1st mate on S/Y Agios Nikolaos, 1926 fully renovated schooner.
Chartering around Patmos Island in the aegean sea.

-Chef cook/1st engineer S/Y Ariana (Swann 55) for 4 month from winter 2021 to spring 2022, in the context of the "sail trader project", a cargo sailing company, between UK and the canaries

-Bosun/chef Cook on private boat 33ft Teranga HEROS SHIPYARD IZAR 51in New Caledonia for 5 months (~2000nm)

-marine mechanic on the 182ft MY Sam Simon during the annual refit in Las Palmas de gran canarias. + transit to La Rochelle. (~1500nm)

-Fast boat photographer on Sea shepherd's France Fast boat : Clementine

I have numerous hours spent at sea also because of the campaigns I made as a media guy and due to the recreationnal dives I've done.
But this is mostly on small boat.

To resume my skills :

I'm a mechanical engineer that also knows how to produce professional media, (video filming and editing, underwater and on land photography...)
Who will absolutely not let you down when lunch time will arrive!
I have a big passion for cooking, especially vegan as it is for me the most sustainable.
I m not lost in an engine room neither as I primarily a tech guy (bachelor degree in mechanical engineering) . I dive too, N3 French Anmp and deep diver SSI.

French Coastal Dinghy driving license

Fluent in French and English.

Hope to hear from you soon!!
Thanks for reading.

show hide About me

About me

  • Availability 15th September 2022

  • LocationPortugal

  • NationalityFrench

  • Age29

  • GenderMale

  • Fluent languagesFrench, English

  • Basic knowledge ofSpanish

  • SmokerNo

  • Visible tattoosNo

  • VISAs Schengen visa (or EU citizenship)

  • Sea miles2,500 - 10,000

  • Required position Mechanic/Deckhand
    Competent Crew

  • Expected arrangement Professional / Recreational

show hide Photos


Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Experience

Experience log

Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Qualifications


  • Jan 2019 PADI - Rescue Diver (emergency first response) Complete

show hide Feedback



Only members can leave reviews. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Contact

Contact Valentin.R


You must be logged in to send a message. or Register.


Share this profile


Profile URL

This URL has automatically been copied to your clipboard.