• contact Send Message
  • menu Menu
  • Phill365

    • 14m Beneteau Oceanis 473
    • Greece
    • Checked in 4 days ago

Longer term cruising companion (1+ years)

Due to the current worldwide situation I have delayed my departure to the yacht until March 2022.
I am hoping to find a long term female crew / travel companion who would be Interested in cruising the oceans while experiencing new destinations. Preference would be for a minimum of 1+ years, after an initial trail and providing all parties are happy and comfortable aboard.
Some sailing experience would be advantageous and a minimum of Competent Crew certification would be required before any long passages. Experience is not a pre requisite however enthusiasm and a passion for being on the water is mandatory.
As it will be required when entering countries, Proof of COVID-19 vaccination will also be required.
If you have a dream of sailing the oceans, living off the grid and exploring new places without the initial outlay of purchasing a yacht, then this opportunity could be for you.
My yacht is currently located in Greece (Dodecanese) and I am currently living in Western Australia.
In late February / early March 2022, I will be returning to my yacht to move aboard full time. This will be subject to any travel restrictions at the time.
It is my intention is to spent 3 months in Greece completing a few jobs, preparing the yacht for launching and local sailing around the Dodecanese.
I will then head to Turkey where I will apply for a 12 month visa in order to give me the opportunity to cruise the Turkish coast and complete the remaining work over the winter months.
In March 2023 I will begin cruising through the Med with breaks in non EU countries if required along the way and before crossing the Atlantic in late 2023 or 2024..
The long term plan is to sail the Caribbean followed by the Pacific with the end destination being South East Asia.
I have no fixed time frame and I am open to other destinations along the way.
As with all plans, they are written in the sand at low tide :).
I am sailing on a budget and it is my intention to live off grid whenever possible, anchor over using marina’s (unless necessary).
Onboard consumable costs will be on a shared basis.
I am in the process of fitting out the yacht with all new safety equipment required for offshore cruising along with adding equipment which will allow the vessel to be as self sufficient as possible (solar, water maker, generator etc).
I am easy going, very organised and safety is always of the highest priority.
I have no dietary requirements although I expect to become more of a vegetarian while cruising, although I do enjoy a good steak and bacon with my eggs :)
Being an Australian, enjoying a social drink or two is to be expected. I am not opposed to smokers, I occasionally indulge after a few drinks but prefer there be no smoking onboard.
Although I do care, I‘m not on a mission to save the planet and the animals, I am just out to enjoy the the remaining time I have left on it.
I am not looking for romance, just the company of a female. Although a wise man once said never say never.
If this sounds like something you may be interested in, feel free to send me a message and I will happily share further information about my plans, the yacht and myself.
Cheers,
Phill
SV Southern Star IV

show hide Position

Position

  • Crew positionFriendship

  • Availability 28 Feb 2022 for the foreseeable future

  • Expenses to/from vesselPaid by crew

  • Expenses onboardContribution on a shared basis

  • Team / SoloNot important

show hide Vessel

Vessel

  • TypeSailing Yacht

  • ClassificationDhoni

  • Make/modelBeneteau Oceanis 473

  • Length14 metres

  • Berth6

  • Sailing from Greece , Leros

  • Sailing to Turkey , Marmaris

  • Language spoke aboardEnglish

  • Boat descriptionIn 2019 I began a major refit which due to covid came to a grinding halt. I will complete the refit when I return on 2022. Refit items include new electronics, water maker, replace thru hull fittings and valves, replace all lighting with LED, replace all running rigging, hatches and port lights, 3 new toilets and plumbing. The next major project will be having a dinghy David / solar arch manufactured when in Turkey Before leaving the Med many other upgrades will be made to make the yacht more suitable for world cruising. Accommodation: 3 double cabins, 3 heads with H/C shower. Additional equipment onboard: , Portable generator, Dinghy & outboard, BBQ, 1 x SUP (will be adding a 2nd) and 2 x folding bikes.

show hide Skipper

Skipper

  • NationalityAustralian

  • Age56

  • GenderMale

  • Fluent languages English

  • Qualifications 1st Aid
    Boat Operator Licence
    Commercial Driver
    CPR
    Long Range Radio Certificate
    MRCOP (Marine Radio Certificate of Proficiency)
    RYA Day Skipper Practical
    RYA Day Skipper Theory
    Safety Boating Course
    Dive Master
    Rescue Diver
    International Certificate Of Competency (ICC)

  • Sea Miles 2,500 - 10,000

show hide Feedback

Feedback

0

Only members can leave reviews. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Photos

Photos

9
Content Locked

Members only. or Sign up, it's FREE!

show hide Contact

Contact

You must be to contact this member. or Sign up, it's FREE!

top
close

Share this profile

close

Profile URL

This URL has automatically been copied to your clipboard.